This Website and the Sub Sites attached to it use cookies. For details please click here. By continuing to use this Website or any Sub Sites, you are consenting to the use of these cookies. You can switch off cookies at any time using your browser settings but if you do, this may affect your user experience.
Please wait...

Make sure not to miss out! 

Enter 2019's National Women’s Club T20 Knockout Cup & Plate competition taking part in May and June. 

Contact before registrations close on Sunday 16th December.

hide announcement

Mickleover Cricket Club History - Dec 2017

Posted by Tim Rance on 18/12/2017 14:49


The actual date Mickleover Cricket Club was founded is a mystery, earliest records discovered are dated 1870. Initially playing cricket at a ground located at the junction of Hospital Lane with Etwall Road (nearest area now is as you turn into Hospital Lane / Merlin Way)

In 1948 Mickleover Sports Club was formed combining Mickleover C.C. & Mickleover F.C. playing their matches at Vicarage Road (Radfords Pleasance). During the 1950’s and 1960’s played “friendly cricket”. Mickleover showed their competitive nature winning the Butterley Cup in 1960, from which there is the unenviable record of losing 5 Jackson Cup Semi-finals They also played in the Purcell Cup, competed between themselves, Pastures Hospital and Mickleover RBL

For many years Mickleover Cricket Club were proud to have as its President, E.J. Gothard; Eddie, was a former Derbyshire Captain who will always be remembered as “the man who bowled Bradman” in 1948.

As the 1960’s ended the Derby & District League was reformed, Mickleover decided to join in 1971 winning the League Cup (Sherowit Cup) in 1973,1975 & 1986. However, the league title eluded them. Records show up until the mid1970’s only village residents were eligible to play. This was clearly visible with the continuation of father to sons playing and is still evident today!

In the late 1970’s the club entered a 2nd team and in 1982 won the 3rd Division (Red Rose Bowl).

With the Derby and District League losing members to the Central Derbyshire League and the County League, it was decided Mickleover C.C should join the County League in 1987; narrowly missing out on success in their first season. In 1993 won Division 5, by that time plans were in motion for a move to their new ground at Station Road.

County League records confirms Mickleover as League Champions 2006 1st XI Division 6c, 2008 1st XI Division 4S & Wright Cup Winners, 2009 2nd XI Division 8S, 2010 1st XI in Division 4S & 2nd XI Division 7S + James Harwood Trophy Winners. 2015 Bayley Cup Winners, 2016 1st XI Runners Up Division 4S & 2nd Runners Up Division 9s

1995 saw the move to the current ground on Station Road (Grade A rated), this was swiftly followed by the setting up of a Junior Section playing in the Derby & District Youth Cricket League. Without our Junior Section there would be no Mickleover Cricket Club. . This is clearly evident today, as all the players bar 2 in our 1st XI came through junior cricket!

The D&DYL shows Mickleover winning the kwik cricket league in 2005,2006,2007,2008,2010 & 2012, the U11 hardball league in 2009 & 2014, Mick Ahearne Trophy in 2008 & 2009.  U13’s were league winners in 2001,2003,2004,2006,2007,2008, 2009,2012,2013, the U13 Dave Hagues Memorial Trophy in 2007,2009 & 2017.  U15’s won the league in 1999,2006,2010,2011,2014 and U15 Jack Briggs Trophy 2003,2006,2010,2011,2012 & 2014.  U17’s were league winners in 2000,2012 & 2013.  The main achievement came in the 2016 season when the U19’s won through to the finals day of the Nat West County 20/20 competition.

In August 2001 Mickleover was the first local cricket club outside the county circuit to hold floodlit cricket matches, the first as part of Dominic Cork’s testimonial year, the second saw a League Select XI take on a League Select Overseas XI.

For the future, running 3 senior teams in the league in 2018, having previously ran a 3rd team based at the Polo Ground at Osmaston. Our Junior section continues to thrive with teams in all age groups.

Published: December 2017